Saturday, 29 April 2017
2010 Matilda Award Nominees announced
Tuesday, 15 February 2011 19:30

Over the past 24 years Brisbane's Matilda Awards have gained a reputation for recognising and rewarding the talents of many emerging artists in acting, directing, producing and playwrighting.

Winners will be announced on Monday 7 March 2011 at a ceremony to be held at The Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts, Fortitude Valley.

::Full list of nominees::

Best Mainstage Production
Grimm Tales (QTC)
Hamlet (La Boite)
I Love You, Bro (La Boite)
The Little Dog Laughed (QTC)
The Story of the Miracles at Cookie’s Table (Bungabura Productions and QPAC co-production)

Best Independent Production
The Bitterling (La Boite Independents)
boy girl wall (The Escapists at Metro)
Furious Angels (Metro Arts)
Single Admissions (Metro Arts)
[title of show] (Oscar Theatre Company)

Best Direction
Daniel Evans for Single Admissions
David Berthold for Hamlet
Leah Purcell for The Story of The Miracles at Cookie’s Table
Michael Futcher for Grimm Tales
The Escapists for boy girl wall

Best Female Actor in a Lead Role
Amy Ingram in Fat Pig
Helen Christinson in Macbeth
Leah Purcell in The Story of The Miracles at Cookie’s Table
Liz Buchanan in [title of show]
Melanie Zanetti in Engine

Best Male Actor in a Lead Role
Christopher Sommers in Fat Pig
Daniel Murphy in Blackbird
Hugh Parker in Betrayal
Leon Cain in I Love You, Bro
Lucas Stibbard in boy girl wall

Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role
Alex Feifers in Fiddler on the Roof
Amy Ingram in Single Admissions
Helen Howard in Hamlet
Melanie Zanetti in Grimm Tales
Melanie Zanetti in The Little Dog Laughed

Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role
Dan Crestani in Grimm Tales
Nick Cook in The Little Dog Laughed
Scott Witt in Grimm Tales
Steven Rooke in Fat Pig
Thomas Larkin in Hamlet
William Davies in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Best New Australian Work
The Bitterling by Sven Swenson
boy girl wall by The Escapists
A Catch of the Breath by Robert Thwaites
Furious Angels by David Burton
Single Admissions by Tammy Weller

Best Emerging Artist
Amy Ingram for acting in Fat Pig and Single Admissions
Daniel Evans for directing Single Admissions
Jessica Harm for acting in April’s Fool
Melanie Zanetti for acting in Engine, The Little Dog Laughed and Grimm Tales
Nick Cook for acting in The Little Dog Laughed
Nicki Bloom for writing Tender

Best Design (set, lighting, sound or costume)
Bruce McKinven for set and costume design of The Story of the Miracles at Cookie’s Table
Greg Clarke for design on Grimm Tales
Jason Glenwright for design on Songs for a New World
Josh McIntosh for set and costume design on Jesus Christ Superstar
Steve Toulmin for music and sound design on Hamlet

Pin It
PozibleAustralian Stage JobsMembers Area

TODAY in Brisbane

No events

Most Read BRISBANE Reviews

My Fair Lady | Opera Australia and John Frost
What a theatrical ride: in a show of this magnitude and grandeur, it is hard to single out all the characters and regale th...
Constellations | Queensland Theatre
Imagine a world where time doesn’t exist, at least not in the linear, beginning-to-end fashion that we are familiar with.
Untapped | RAW Dance
RAW Dance in association with QPAC have brought their newest offering to the Cremorne Theatre – Untapped, a high energy dan...
We Made You | Matt Okine
The Brisbane local boy (as he loudly announced "Indro kid 4068 represennnnt!" ) is back on home soil and performing where i...
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – In Concert | Queensland Symphony Orchestra
Queensland Symphony Orchestra’s performance, barely visible with the musicians and conductor (Sarah Hicks) lit in blue bene...