Applications are now open for the $20,000, Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award and for grants of up to $5,000 from the Rodney Seaborn Play Writing Support Fund. Such financial support for playwriting is one of the richest in Australia.

The Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award is offered each year for the development of a play or other approved performing arts project. The Award was instituted by the Late Dr Rodney Seaborn in 1995 to encourage the development of performing arts projects emphasizing positive values.

The Award is intended for those needing income and support during the writing or development of a project or to assist with costs of production, workshops, restaging, publishing or touring. It is not intended as a prize for a finished work.

A list of previous winner’s reads like a ‘Who’s Who’ of the Australian literary world and includes Antony Waddington, Katherine Thomson, Ros Horin, Debra Oswald, Don Reid, Rosalba Clemente, Rachel Brown, Reg Cribb, Finegan Kruckemeyer Campion Decent and last year’s winner Mari Lourey for her play “DIRT CLOUD.”
The Rodney Seaborn Play Writing Support Fund provides assistance of $5,000 to assist playwrights and others working in the area to advance knowledge of playwriting as an art form. Purposes for which grants may be made include; organising conferences, workshops, master-classes or discussion groups, assistance to undertake a course or secure a mentorship position, setting up a website, assistance in undertaking a course such as dramaturgy.
Dr. Seaborn came to prominence in the performing arts community when in 1986 he purchased the Stables Theatre, Kings Cross which in turn led to the establishment of the Seaborn, Broughton and Walford Foundation dedicated to offering support to the performing arts in general.  
For all information and to download application form visit: 

Most read news